My First Fondant Cake
June 1, 2011, 10:57 am
Filed under: Dessert, Kitchen

20110531_15

I had heard nothing but horror stories of how difficult fondant could be and how awful it tasted from all the adventurous home bakers I have known, so when the idea of a fondant Smiley Face Cake popped into my head, I undoubtedly scared the crap out of myself. 

I started my research for a simple recipe that looked simple and tasted just a good.  I had never tasted the stuff so I wasn’t sure what I was getting myself into, but when I bake something, I want it to taste AWESOME!!  Looks didn’t matter as much if you didn’t want to eat the thing!  It wasn’t long before I found a recipe that I felt comfortable with from Peggy Weaver for Marshmallow Fondant.20110531_18  Marshmallows are good.  I don’t believe I have ever met someone that didn’t like em’.  This has gotta taste good.  So off I went.

After baking the cake, (Tangy Lemonade Cake, recipe later to come) I started the fondant.  It was scary sticky and very messy, but really not that difficult.  I definitely got my work out from all the kneading I did to get it nice and smooth, and once I added the gel color, my hands got stained yellow for the next two days.  But, all in all, I’m happy with how it came out.  The it didn’t taste bad at all, even Bill liked it. (he hates everything)

So if you’re adventurous and want to try something new, attempt some beautiful, satin smooth, and yummy Marshmallow Fondant!  It’s not as bad as you think.  ^_^

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Beautiful cake! I love your blog! You have crazy talent and I’m happy to see you sharing it through this blog. I completely agree with you on the concept of food needing to taste as good as it looks. Taste is vital. It’s what food does. Obviously, for the majority of one’s diet, nourishment should be most important, but when we are talking cake, it’s pure pleasure baby. I’m with you on the marshmallow fondant thing as well. MM fondant is all I use besides the occasional chocolate fondant by “Satin Ice”. Other than that, from what I have tasted of the prefab stuff…blah. I hope you continue making your delicious AND beautiful creations! ❤

Comment by Jackie

Have you started your business yet? About to make another cake some time in the next two days for another birthday at work. Thinking about doing some Banana Split Cupcakes…. mmmm.

Comment by duhgeorge




Leave a Reply

